Tag Archives: 2017 juno awards

2017 Juno Award Winners

2017 Juno Award Winners

The Canadian Federation of Musicians and American Federation of Musicians congratulates all our members who were nominated for or won 2017 Juno Awards. The list of member 2017 Juno Award winners includes:

JUNO Fan Choice Award: Shawn Mendes of Local 145 (Vancouver, BC)

Album of the Year: You Want It Darker, Leonard Cohen former member of Local 47 (Los Angeles, CA)

Artist of the Year: Leonard Cohen

Group of the Year: The Tragically Hip—Gord Downie, Paul Langlois, Rob Baker, Gord Sinclair, and Johnny Fay of Local 518 (Kingston, ON)

Songwriter of the Year: Gord Downie

Breakthrough Artist of the Year: Ruth B of Local 390 (Edmonton, AB)

Breakthrough Group of the Year: The Dirty Nil, Luke Bentham and Kyle Fisher of Local 293 (Hamilton, ON) and Ross Miller of Local 298 (Niagara Region, ON)

Alternative Album of the Year: Touch, July Talk, Peter Dreimanis, Leah Fay, Ian Docherty, Josh Warburton and Danny Miles of Local 149

Classical Album of the Year, Large Ensemble or Soloist(s) with Large Ensemble Accompaniment: Going Home Star—Truth and Reconciliation, Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra of Local 190 (Winnipeg, MB)

Classical Album of the Year, Vocal or
Choral Performance:
L’Aiglon, Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal of Local 406

Adult Contemporary Album of the Year: Wonderland, Sarah McLachlan of Local 145

Canadian Music Hall of Fame: Sarah McLachlan

Allan Waters Humanitarian Award: Buffy Sainte-Marie of Local 802 (New York City)