Now is the right time to become an American Federation of Musicians member. From ragtime to rap, from the early phonograph to today's digital recordings, the AFM has been there for its members. And now there are more benefits available to AFM members than ever before, including a multi-million dollar pension fund, excellent contract protection, instrument and travelers insurance, work referral programs and access to licensed booking agents to keep you working.

As an AFM member, you are part of a membership of more than 80,000 musicians. Experience has proven that collective activity on behalf of individuals with similar interests is the most effective way to achieve a goal. The AFM can negotiate agreements and administer contracts, procure valuable benefits and achieve legislative goals. A single musician has no such power.

The AFM has a proud history of managing change rather than being victimized by it. We find strength in adversity, and when the going gets tough, we get creative - all on your behalf.

Like the industry, the AFM is also changing and evolving, and its policies and programs will move in new directions dictated by its members. As a member, you will determine these directions through your interest and involvement. Your membership card will be your key to participation in governing your union, keeping it responsive to your needs and enabling it to serve you better. To become a member now, visit


Home » Recent News » 2017 Juno Award Winners

2017 Juno Award Winners


The Canadian Federation of Musicians and American Federation of Musicians congratulates all our members who were nominated for or won 2017 Juno Awards. The list of member 2017 Juno Award winners includes:

JUNO Fan Choice Award: Shawn Mendes of Local 145 (Vancouver, BC)

Album of the Year: You Want It Darker, Leonard Cohen former member of Local 47 (Los Angeles, CA)

Artist of the Year: Leonard Cohen

Group of the Year: The Tragically Hip—Gord Downie, Paul Langlois, Rob Baker, Gord Sinclair, and Johnny Fay of Local 518 (Kingston, ON)

Songwriter of the Year: Gord Downie

Breakthrough Artist of the Year: Ruth B of Local 390 (Edmonton, AB)

Breakthrough Group of the Year: The Dirty Nil, Luke Bentham and Kyle Fisher of Local 293 (Hamilton, ON) and Ross Miller of Local 298 (Niagara Region, ON)

Alternative Album of the Year: Touch, July Talk, Peter Dreimanis, Leah Fay, Ian Docherty, Josh Warburton and Danny Miles of Local 149

Classical Album of the Year, Large Ensemble or Soloist(s) with Large Ensemble Accompaniment: Going Home Star—Truth and Reconciliation, Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra of Local 190 (Winnipeg, MB)

Classical Album of the Year, Vocal or
Choral Performance:
L’Aiglon, Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal of Local 406

Adult Contemporary Album of the Year: Wonderland, Sarah McLachlan of Local 145

Canadian Music Hall of Fame: Sarah McLachlan

Allan Waters Humanitarian Award: Buffy Sainte-Marie of Local 802 (New York City)

NEWS abadicash abadislot Menara368 royalbola abadislot abadislot menara368 abadicash menara368 totoabadi Menara368