Now is the right time to become an American Federation of Musicians member. From ragtime to rap, from the early phonograph to today's digital recordings, the AFM has been there for its members. And now there are more benefits available to AFM members than ever before, including a multi-million dollar pension fund, excellent contract protection, instrument and travelers insurance, work referral programs and access to licensed booking agents to keep you working.

As an AFM member, you are part of a membership of more than 80,000 musicians. Experience has proven that collective activity on behalf of individuals with similar interests is the most effective way to achieve a goal. The AFM can negotiate agreements and administer contracts, procure valuable benefits and achieve legislative goals. A single musician has no such power.

The AFM has a proud history of managing change rather than being victimized by it. We find strength in adversity, and when the going gets tough, we get creative - all on your behalf.

Like the industry, the AFM is also changing and evolving, and its policies and programs will move in new directions dictated by its members. As a member, you will determine these directions through your interest and involvement. Your membership card will be your key to participation in governing your union, keeping it responsive to your needs and enabling it to serve you better. To become a member now, visit


Home » Organizing » 2015 Juno Awards Winners

2015 Juno Awards Winners


2015 Juno Awards WinnersNumerous AFM members were among those honored with nominations and awards at the 2015 Juno Awards. Following is a list of Juno winners who are AFM members and whose work is recorded on labels signatory to AFM agreements. The AFM celebrates all winners and nominees whose works are supported by AFM musicians, under AFM agreements.

2015 JUNO Awards Winners

Juno Fan Choice Award: Michael Bublé, Local 145 (Vancouver, BC)

Single of the Year: “Rude,” by Magic!: Mark Pellizzer, Local 180 (Ottawa, ON); Nasri Tony, Ben Spivak, and Alex Tanas, members of Local 47 (Los Angeles, CA)

Breakthrough Group of the Year : Magic!

Group of the Year: Arkells: Max Kerman, Mike DeAngelis, Nick Dika, and Tim Oxford, Local 467 (Brantford, ON); and Anthony Carone, Local 149 (Toronto, ON)

Country Album of the Year: Lifted, Dallas Smith, Local 145 (Vancouver, BC)

Alternative Album of the Year: July Talk, July Talk: Peter Dreimanis, Leah Fay, Ian Docherty, Josh Warburton, and Danny Miles, all members of Local 149 (Toronto, ON)

Pop Album of the Year: Little Machines, Lights: Valerie Poxleitner, Local 149 (Toronto, ON)

Rock Album of the Year: High Noon, Arkells

Vocal Jazz Album of the Year: Red, Diana Panton, Local 293 (Hamilton, ON)

Jazz Album of the Year – Solo: Vista Obscura, Kirk MacDonald, Local 149 (Toronto, ON)

Instrumental Album of the Year: Encuentro, Quartango: René Gosselin, Jonathan Goldman, Stéphane Aubin, and Antoine Bareil, all members of Local 406 (Montreal, PQ)

Children’s Album of the Year: Where in the World,
Fred Penner, Local 190 (Winnipeg, MB)

Classical Album of the Year—Solo or Chamber Ensemble: Bartok: Chamber Works for Violin Vol. 3, James Ehnes Chandos, Local 190 (Winnipeg, MB)

Classical Album of the Year—Large Ensemble/Soloist(s) with Large Ensemble Accompaniment: Mozart: Piano Concertos Nos. 22 & 24, Angela Hewitt, Local 180 (Ottawa, ON)

Classical Composition of the Year: Airline Icarus, Brian Current, Local 149 (Toronto, ON)

Roots & Traditional Album of the Year—Solo:
The Raven’s Sun, Catherine MacLellan, Local 1000 (Nongeographic)

Roots & Traditional Album of the Year—Group: Let It Lie, The Bros. Landreth: David Landreth, Joe Landreth, Ryan Voth, and Alex Campbell, all members of Local 190 (Winnipeg, MB)

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year: VIP, Manic Drive: Shawn Cavallo, Michael Cavallo, and Anthony Moreino, all members of Local 293 (Hamilton, ON)

Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year: Z², Devin Townsend Project, Local 145 (Vancouver, BC)

Adult Contemporary Album of the Year: Shine On, Sarah McLachlan, Local 145 (Vancouver, BC)


Allan Waters Humanitarian Award: Rush: Alex Lifeson, Local 149 (Toronto, ON); Geddy Lee, Local 149 (Toronto, ON); and
Neil Peart, Local 298 (Niagara Region, ON)

Canadian Music Hall of Fame: Alanis Morissette, Local 47
(Los Angeles, CA)